HomeDirectionsAttorneysPractice Areas

Whatever your legal needs, I can help you.  If yours is a matter that I cannot handle, I will refer your case to an experienced and qualified attorney who can.
Call today for a consultation-(508) 829-8181


Although the possession of less than an ounce of marijuana has been decriminalized, the possession of less than an ounce of marijuana with an intent to distribute has not.  Furthermore, the distribution of less than an ounce of marijuana remains illegal.  Pursuant to Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 94C, Section 32, anyone who  "knowingly or intentionally manufactures, distributes, dispenses or cultivates, or possesses with intent to manufacture, distribute, dispense or cultivate a controlled substance in Class D of section thirty-one shall be imprisoned in a jail or house of correction for not more than two years or by a fine of not less than five hundred nor more than five thousand dollars, or both such fine and imprisonment."  Many people wrongly assume that "distribution" means "selling drugs", when in fact, just giving another person marijuana qualifies as distribution per the Massachusetts Courts.  Additionally, there is no weight minimum (i.e. less than an ounce) in regards to the distribution of marijuana.  Therefore, simply handing another person a joint would violate the statute.  If the distribution is done within 300 feet of a school, there is a mandatory minimum jail penalty of 2 years in the house of correction, to be served on and after the sentence imposed for the violation of M.G.L. 94C, Section 32.    Worth it or no?


    Kevin C. Larson, Esquire



Kevin C. Larson, Esq.

Hannah White, Paralegal 


Law Office of Kevin C. Larson
19 Salisbury Street
Holden, MA 01520
Tel: (508) 829-8181
Fax: (508) 829-9915
Email: klarson@klarsonlaw.com
Copyright 2019 Law Office of Kevin C. Larson
All rights reserved.
This material is not intended as legal advice.
The contents of this website are posted for informational purposes only and may constitute advertising pursuant to Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court Rule 3:07.