MARIJUANA = MISCONCEPTIONS
Although the possession of less than an ounce of marijuana has been decriminalized, the possession of less
than an ounce of marijuana with an intent to distribute has not. Furthermore, the distribution of less than an ounce
of marijuana remains illegal. Pursuant to Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 94C, Section 32, anyone who "knowingly or
intentionally manufactures, distributes, dispenses or cultivates, or possesses with intent to manufacture, distribute, dispense
or cultivate a controlled substance in Class D of section thirty-one shall be imprisoned in a jail or house of correction
for not more than two years or by a fine of not less than five hundred nor more than five thousand dollars, or both such fine
and imprisonment." Many people wrongly assume that "distribution" means "selling drugs",
when in fact, just giving another person marijuana qualifies as distribution per the Massachusetts Courts. Additionally,
there is no weight minimum (i.e. less than an ounce) in regards to the distribution of marijuana. Therefore, simply
handing another person a joint would violate the statute. If the distribution is done within 300 feet of a school, there
is a mandatory minimum jail penalty of 2 years in the house of correction, to be served on and after the sentence imposed
for the violation of M.G.L. 94C, Section 32. Worth it or no?
Follow Attorney Larson on Social Media Platforms
Tweets by @attorneylarson
Kevin C. Larson, Esquire
Kevin C. Larson, Esq.Hannah White, Paralegal
Kevin C. Larson, Esq.
Hannah White, Paralegal
Law Office of Kevin C. Larson19 Salisbury
StreetHolden, MA 01520Tel: (508) 829-8181Fax: (508) 829-9915Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Copyright 2019 Law Office of Kevin C. LarsonAll rights reserved. This
material is not intended as legal advice.The contents of this website are posted for informational purposes only and
may constitute advertising pursuant to Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court Rule 3:07.